Displaying MsgBox from Service with Intent?

Snant

Licensed User
Longtime User
Hello to all.

I am a newbie in B4A but i have studied the documentation a lot as i have searched the forum for hours.

I am trying to create a service that runs in the background. I realized that i can't display any info from the service but i have to inform the activity to display any data i want.

But how can i display a MsgBox when the service is running but the activity is paused? For example, i want to display a MsgBox (AlertDialog) every time the phone rings. I tried a lot to use Intent with ACTION_VIEW but with no success.

What i am missing?

Thank you.

:sign0144:

Snant

Licensed User
Longtime User
Thank you for the answer. I already know that ToastMessage is the only dialog that can be displayed from Service but i was wondering if there is any way to display MessageBox from an intent.

I have tried displaying e.g. WIFI_SETTINGS and it works but i don't know if this could happen with a MsgBox using an intent.

Thank you.

Upvote 0

agraham

Expert
Licensed User
Longtime User
i was wondering if there is any way to display MessageBox from an intent.
I don't understand what you mean by this but you got it right in your first post.
i have to inform the activity to display any data i want.
Only activities can display stuff.

Upvote 0

Snant

Licensed User
Longtime User
Hmm, i'm sorry, maybe i haven't completely understood the meaning of intents.

Is this display-only-from-Activity issue is only for B4A? Because there are plenty of apps that act as services, that display information like AlertDialogs with buttons and interact with the user.

Upvote 0

Snant

Licensed User
Longtime User
That's right Erel, i thought about this but i must admit that i don't really know how to call a custom activity from an intent.

Thank you.

Upvote 0

JMB

Licensed User
Longtime User
You could use CallSub([Activity],Sub) from inside your service to allow your activity to do the UI stuff.