Android Question Bluetooth trackers?

agraham

Expert
Licensed User
Longtime User
I'm new to this having never used the BLE library or these trackers before.

Has anybody used these cheap trackers that are all over eBay, in particular in sounding their alarm from a B4A app?

s-l1600.jpg

Last edited:

emexes

Expert
Licensed User
I'm new to this
I must have you mixed up with another agraham, who seemed to have done everything.✌

Has anybody used these cheap trackers that are all over eBay, in particular in sounding their alarm from a B4A app?
1595589356954.png

I may have experimented with them a bit. 🥳 But I was doing it from a read-the-button perspective, not the alarm perspective. They were easy enough to figure out. I was massively disappointed to discover that the button state wasn't part of the advertising broadcast, and that you actually had to connect to the devices to properly read the button. Most of them you could read by inference because when the button was pressed, there would be a flurry of broadcasts.

There is an app called nRF Connect, that lets you connect to BLE devices and explore their attributes/characteristics.

Upvote 0

emexes

Expert
Licensed User
When I use nRF Connect here it shows up in the scan list as ITAG (but I think some varieties don't):

1595590552945.png

and when I connect to it, we can see a characteristic (data element) that might be what you're looking for:

1595590659063.png

and when I write to that characteristic, sure enough, the thing beeps (and beeps, and beeps, and... hmm, no timeout... that seems battery unfriendly)

1595590833698.png

To do the same from a B4A BLE2 program should be no problem. 🍻

Upvote 0

agraham

Expert
Licensed User
Longtime User
the thing beeps (and beeps, and beeps, and... hmm, no timeout... that seems battery unfriendly)
Many thanks. That's exactly what I want (for a drone locator). I don't even need to write the app if nRF Connect can do it :)

Upvote 0

emexes

Expert
Licensed User