Need Help in getting current location as TEXT

flyingbag

Licensed User
Longtime User
Hello,

I am new to B4A and Android development - less than a few days ...

Currently i am trying to figure out if there is a simple way for my app to return my current position as a string.

So basically - not latitude Longitude - but name of the place like "Howard Street,SF, CA" or "Pandan Valley, Singapore" - like you see in "Google Maps" as your current location ...Approximate location is ok.

Any ideas of how this could be done?

Thanks in advance for your help...

Cheers,
Flyingbag

Peter Simpson

Expert
Licensed User
Longtime User
Google's Geolocation API

Hello,
I personally use Google's Geolocation API.

I send the current latitude and longitude to the Google and then I process the page for the correct result.

In the example below, sending my test latitude and longitude location to Google brings back the correct address within 4 houses.

look at all the <formatted_address> in the result below

http://maps.google.com/maps/api/geocode/xml?latlng=52.5413339,-1.9213159&sensor=true

I did some testing and formulated a formula to decide which <formatted_address> to use.

Upvote 0

flyingbag

Licensed User
Longtime User
Hello,
I personally use Google's Geolocation API.

I send the current latitude and longitude to the Google and then I process the page for the correct result.

In the example below, sending my test latitude and longitude location to Google brings back the correct address within 4 houses.

look at all the <formatted_address> in the result below

http://maps.google.com/maps/api/geocode/xml?latlng=52.5413339,-1.9213159&sensor=true

I did some testing and formulated a formula to decide which <formatted_address> to use.
Erel - thanks!

Thanks Peter - thats excellent - will give it a try.

Upvote 0

warwound

Expert
Licensed User
Longtime User
Another option is my Geocoder library.