Cannot get admob ad activity showing, help needed please

mistermentality

Licensed User
Longtime User
[Solved] Cannot get admob ad activity showing, help needed please

I am new to admob, and having followed the tutorial and edited my apps manifest manually and then setting it to read only I install my app but I don't get anything, no advert not even a blank banner area on screen and am unsure why.

I first tried using the example code but no joy so tried amending it in case for some reason the activity view was being hidden so now the code reads...

B4X:
Sub Activity_Create(FirstTime As Boolean)
   Activity.LoadLayout("main.bal")
   AdView1.Initialize("Ad", "my publisher id goes here")
        Activity.AddView(AdView1, 0dip, 0dip, 320dip, 50dip)
        AdView1.Visible = True
   Adview1.BringToFront
        AdView1.LoadAd
End Sub

I get no error messages and the manifest has the correct entries added, shouldn't I get at least a black banner area or have I made some stupid mistake?

The manifest reads....

B4X:
<?xml version="1.0" encoding="utf-8"?>
<manifest xmlns:android="http://schemas.android.com/apk/res/android"
      package="TxtSpK.com"
      android:versionCode="1"
      android:versionName=""
     android:installLocation="internalOnly">
      <uses-sdk android:minSdkVersion="4" />
      <supports-screens
          android:largeScreens="true"
          android:normalScreens="true"
          android:smallScreens="true"
          android:anyDensity="true"/>
    <application android:icon="@drawable/icon" android:label="TxtSpK">

<activity android:windowSoftInputMode="stateHidden" android:launchMode="singleTop" android:name=".main"
                  android:label="TxtSpK" android:screenOrientation="unspecified">
            <intent-filter>
                <action android:name="android.intent.action.MAIN" />
                <category android:name="android.intent.category.LAUNCHER" />
            </intent-filter>
        </activity>
    </application>